COLLIN EDWARDS RETIRES FROM MOTOGP

Collin Edwards announced his retirement from MotoGP at the end of 2014 season during a Press Conference in Austin ahead of the RedBull Grand Prix of the Americas on Thursday where he was joined by fellow American Nicky Hayden and European MotoGP™ trio Marc Marquez, Valentino Rossi and Bradley Smith.

20140411-032448.jpg
Edwards has been riding professionally for 22 years and has been in MotoGP™ since 2003, notching up 12 podiums along the way, having come into the World Championship as World Superbike champion. Announcing his decision in the Circuit of the Americas media centre the Texan native joked, “I’m still racing this year though!”

NGM Forward Racing’s Edwards went on to explain, “In testing this year I could see that I need to change my riding style and it is against my instinct to ride differently so that has had an affect. I want to spend more time with my wife and my children and of course I want to say thanks to Yamaha and everyone who has helped me in my career.”

20140411-032717.jpg
There were plaudits for the retiring Edwards from the other riders with Rossi admitting, “I am very sad about the news of Colin’s retirement as he is one of my best friends in the paddock. He is a great guy and a great rider.”

20140411-032843.jpg
Edwards’ compatriot Hayden concluded “I always look at Colin and admire the energy he has with so many miles and so many years behind him. It’s a shame to be losing a fellow American from the sport. I hope he takes it easy for the rest of the year and takes it easy on the rest of us!”

Marquez commented with a smile, “Colin started riding at the top when I was just two years old. I hope I can ride for as long as he has and I think he can be really proud of his career.”

The Red Bull Grand Prix of The Americas gets underway at 9am local time in Austin, Texas (GMT -5 hours) with FP1 for the Moto3™ riders. MotoGP FP1 follows at 9.55am, with the Moto2 riders heading out on track at 10.55am for their first session of the weekend.
>

Leave a Reply

