– Le Mans has hosted 26 previous Grand Prix Races, including the Grand Prix ‘Vitesse du Mans’ in 1991, which was the only season when two Grand Prix events have been held in France in the same year.

– Le Mans was first used for a Grand Prix event in 1969, when the 500 race was won by Giacomo Agostini, who lapped all other riders on his MV Agusta.

– The Le Mans circuit has been used for the MotoGP™ event for the last 14 years in succession, starting in 2000.


Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP™ formula in 2002, Honda have had six wins at Le Mans, Yamaha five and Suzuki one, in 2007 with Chris Vermeulen – Suzuki’s only GP victory in the four-stroke MotoGP™ era to date.


– The riders with most victories at Le Mans are Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa, who have each stood on the top step of the podium on four occasions; Lorenzo has had a single win in the 250 class to add to his three MotoGP™ wins, whereas Pedrosa has won once in the 125 class, twice in 250s and last year in the MotoGP™ class for the first time.


– There have been five GP wins at Le Mans by French riders: Jean Aureal won the 125 race in 1969, Guy Bertin the 125 race in 1979, Patrick Fernandez the 350 race in 1979, Mike di Meglio the 125 race in 2008 and Louis Rossi the Moto3 race in 2012.

– In addition to Le Mans, there have been seven other circuits that have hosted the French GP (the figure in brackets is the number of times each circuit has hosted the French Grand Prix): Paul Ricard (13), Clermont-Ferrand (10), Nogaro (2), Reims (2), Rouen (2), Albi (1) and Magny-Cours (1).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s