MARQUEZ SECURES POLE AT SACHSENRING MOTOGP

Marc Marquez’s second run in the Sachsenring MotoGP earned him a 1’20.336 to secure himself pole position in tomorrow’s German Grand Prix. 

 

This is Marquez’s 6th consecutive pole at the German Circuit and has won in the last 5 years in a row. The Spaniard comments: “We will try for six wins, the most important thing is the confidence with the bike is really high. In this circuit I always get good results but this weekend I feel good and I’m constant. I was also fast over one lap so I’m happy, also happy with the work that we have done. Tomorrow is the most important so we have to keep on like this.”

Tomorrow’s race will be an all-Spanish-front-grid as his team mate Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha) will be lining up behind MARC Marquez on the first row

Dani PEDROSA’s second place on the grid is Pedrosa’s best qualifying result of the season and he remarked: 

“Yeah, I was happy with my first feeling in the first run but Crutchlow didn’t see me and ruined my lap. Unfortunately I had to stop and change tyres and I wasn’t sure if we could do it on the second tyre because sometimes you don’t get the same feeling. Actually I produced a good lap and to get the front row at this track is very important. Hopefully we can make a little step tomorrow as Marquez’s pace is very high and we’re still missing a little. Hopefully we can make a good start and make the right tyre choice, which will be critical.”

Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha) who is back on qualifying form after finishing third expressed concerns about the pace shown by the Repsol Honda duo: “Impressive, it seems the Honda has no problems. 

They’re able to brake later and accelerate very soon. It will be tough to stay with them, I am the first Yamaha to do a 1’20 in this track so I am very happy with this lap time. I did my best and I didn’t get even close to them. I think our goal is to try to get the podium, the victory will be difficult but you never know. The podium is definitely achievable.”

 

Factory DUCATI’s Andrea Iannone leads the second row in 4th, with Yonny Hernández onboard the Sattellite DUCATI (Octo Pramac Racing) in a strong 5th place after having to fight his way through Q1.

MotoGP World Championship leader, Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) completes the second row in 6th. 

 

The Espargaro brothers are in the third row with the elder ALEIX 

in front in 7th aboard his ECSTAR SUZUKI GSXRR with a retro livery celebrating 30 years of the Suzuki’s GSXR series and hopes to guide his junior brother Pol in 8th aboard his Monster Tech3 YAMAHA M1 

around the German circuit.

British riders Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Cal Crutchlow (CWM-LCR Honda), rounds up the top 10 in 9th & 10th respectively.

The MotoGP action continues on July 12 at 09:40 local time with the warm up session, with the race to start at 14:00.

Leave a Reply

