MOTOGP RIDERS SPEAK ON THE DUTCH GRAND PRIX, ANDREA IANNONE PENALIZED

After the Catalunya Grand Prix, IRTA had a brief Testing seasons for riders to try new parts and adjust old settings on their respective MotoGP Bikes ahead of the Dutch Grand Prix at the AssenTT Circuit. The Tests seem to have proven to be really helpful as riders used it to further prepare and amp their optimism towards the Dutch Grand Prix

All riders might have a head start towards the Dutch Grand Prix all thanks to the MOTOGP tests except one – Andrea Iannone will start the race from the back of the grid irrespective of whatever his qualifying time and position would be. This is a disciplinary action from MotoGP Race Direction against “The Maniac” for “irresponsible riding” after taking out Jorge Lorenzo at the Catalan Grand Prix

image

Andrea Iannone: “In the Monday test after Barcelona, we focused on working with the new compounds that Michelin brought and I have to say that the tests proved to be interesting. The French company continues to improve the tyre performance, and they are always very reactive. The feeling with the Desmosedici GP is good, so we will see how they perform at Assen. In the Netherlands I won in Moto2 in 2010 and it’s a circuit I like a lot, even though in previous years it’s proved to be a bit of a tough circuit for Ducati.”

image

Maverick Viñales: “The work we did in Catalunya on Monday after race was very useful to better-investigate the potential of the new specs of the chassis. I’ve been struggling with the rear grip lately and the set-ups we found can apparently help me in finding a better efficiency with traction. This is an important step forward for me, according to my riding style. We are constantly making progress technical-wise and the results are following; we are consistently fighting with the top competitors, although we still miss a little bit that we need to fight properly for even better positions. Assen will be an important and yet tough race, we have to try to finalise the best set-up possible according to the new chassis and be really focused.”

image

Jorge Lorenzo: “Barcelona was a great pity. I knew it was going to be a tough race especially after feeling that the tyres were struggling after five or six laps, but then the crash ruined everything. Now we need to forget the incident and try to fight again in Assen. Racing in Holland is always a kind of bittersweet feeling. It’s a track I love but on the other hand I’ve experienced both good and bad results. The layout is always good for our YZR-M1s so we are willing to have another go to get a great result again. I look forward to racing there!”

image

Aleix Espargaro: “Assen is one of my favourite tracks in the championship and with the improvements we have done lately I believe we can do a good race. From the test in Barcelona two weeks ago, I found a better direction for the development. I will probably go back to the standard chassis as we found some very interesting options in the set-up that can be further explored and exploited. At the end of the test last Monday I did many laps because I felt very comfortable and had a clear perception that we were moving ahead. This continuous improvement, together with the layout of the TT circuit, gives me a further enthusiasm towards this next race.”

image

Michele Pirro: “I’m really happy to race again for Avintia Racing, but at the same time sad for Loris, so I hope he gets well soon. I’ll have the chance to do more kilometres with the GP14 and we’ll work from the base we built at Barcelona. I like Assen, although my last race there was two years ago. But I’m confident on improving our performance from Barcelona, where the rear tyre dropped down a lot and we were not able to get the best of the bike. I also want to thank Ducati for letting me race at Assen.”

image

Andrea Dovizioso: “The post-race Barcelona test was important because we were able to work on improving the Desmosedici GP. At this moment in time we are competitive but we are still missing something to get back up to the front and fight for the podium. I believe that we can do better at Assen than Barcelona because there is more grip and the drop in tyre performance during the race shouldn’t be as marked as in Spain. Even though it’s not one of our favourite tracks, I am confident we can score a good result, but this year it’s impossible to make any predictions before the race, seeing as we don’t know how the tyres Michelin bring will behave here.”

Leave a Reply

