Flawless Vinales makes a record two in a row victories with Yamaha.

The 22-year-old has become the first Yamaha rider since Wayne Rainey in 1990 to win the opening two races of the season and Vinales says he is ‘living in a dream’ during a stunning start to his career as a factory Yamaha rider, which saw him win first time out in Qatar in March. 

“It was a difficult race, very difficult. I started from sixth position and the start was not so bad. I found my way to overtake the riders as fast as I can and finally I arrived behind Cal [Crutchlow],” he said. 


“I struggled to overtake Cal because he is a really good braker. Then once I overtake Cal I thought ‘I have to catch Marc’ because he was going so fast. I was pushing my 100 per-cent and after I tried to make my own pace: the pace I did in the warm-up, I tried to make it the same. Cal was still behind and it was a difficult race to pull away but I am so happy. 

“It’s like being in a dream and it’s so incredible. I have to say thanks to the team because they are working hard in the box and it’s not only my victory, it is the victory of the team because they did great. In these two races we have felt strong from the beginning on the Friday already from the first lap and that’s very important,” Vinales added. 

“For the next races we have to try and continue like that. The team is really motivated and so is the team and the Yamaha has a great performance right now. Race by race I feel stronger and I’m so happy and pleased because two victories in a row is so incredible.”

Leave a Reply

