MotoGP Americas: Vinales set to shatter Marquez’s Austin invincibility?


Another victory this weekend would not only be the 500th grand prix win for Yamaha, but end reigning MotoGP champion Marc Marquez’s stranglehold on the COTA event.

Since the Texan circuit joined the calendar in 2013, Marquez has won every MotoGP race from pole position. But the Honda rider is already on the back foot after falling from the lead in Argentina and many feel that if Vinales can beat Marquez in Austin, he can beat him anywhere.

“The next round is Austin and I’m happy because it’s where I won my first race in Moto2 and did one of my best races with Suzuki. I’ve always been very strong here,” warned Vinales, fourth in the 2016 event.

“I think it is an excellent circuit for my riding style, I love the up and down track, with lots of elevation, so I’m so excited to see how my M1 will work here and how I’m going to feel riding the Yamaha. I’m confident and I know that I can do another good race weekend.”

Leave a Reply

